The Tour of East Gippsland insider

In our first post, we hear from our resident Kiwi and new Trek Fondo recruit, Anna Stott, who made her debut with the team at the Tour of East Gippsland. Here’s what Stotty had to share about her experiences…

Having not done a proper road race in over two years, the Tour of Gippsland looked like a good course to have a crack at and make my debut for Trek Fondo. 

I must admit, even though I have previously completed a number of duathlons, the individual time trial is not my favourite! Starting straight out on the bike without a run prior, or knowing you have to back up the ride with another run afterwards, is a feeling I need to get used to. 

Stage two was much more enjoyable, especially riding with fellow #fondobutts Anna, Niki and Lucky (Siobhan). An opportunity arose mid-race to make an unintentional breakaway with three others (including my team mate Niki) and chase down the leaders. We stayed together until the last kms and managed to find something in my legs to finish in third. 

Sunday had moments to forget – I somehow made the amateur move of leaving my cycling shoes behind at the accommodation which was 45 minutes away. Never fear, my amazing friend, Evelyn Parr, was there and she happened to have the same shoes as me, so she sacrificed her spectator ride to loan me her shoes! Stage three, everyone was on their toes and they had to be – in the final meters of the stage there was a big crash and I was thankful to finish unscathed. 

Overall it was a great way to start the year, finishing fourth in the GC and get into the mindset of just rolling on the pavement instead of pounding it too. Can’t wait for more laughs and to see how the rest of the year goes with Trek Fondo!

Follow Stotty on Instagram (she’s got some rad cycling skills!).

One thought on “The Tour of East Gippsland insider

Leave a Reply

